

6TH EUROFRAME CONFERENCE ON ECONOMIC POLICY ISSUES IN THE EUROPEAN UNION

Causes and consequences of the current financial crisis: what lessons for European Union countries?

Friday, 12 June 2009, London

CALL FOR PAPERS

The EUROFRAME group of research institutes (CASE, CPB, DIW, ESRI, ETLA, IfW, NIESR, OFCE, PROMETEIA, WIFO) will hold its sixth annual Conference on Economic Policy Issues in the European Union in London on 12 June 2009. The aim of the conference is to provide an economic forum for debate on economic policy issues relevant in the European context.

The Conference will focus on **causes and consequences of the current financial crisis with a view to draw lessons for EU countries**. Contributions should address issues related to: **Causes of the current financial crisis** (search for high profitability, growth based on indebtedness and capital gains, functioning of global finance: banks' behaviour, derivative products, financial bubbles, failure of financial mathematics; failures in the national and international regulatory frameworks); *Financial crises and the real economy*, analysing consequences and solutions to the problems they have caused (evidence for the links between financial crises; what can we learn from previous advanced economy financial crises); *The development of the current crisis and policy answers* (vicious circles in banking, financial and equity markets, failures and successes of government measures to restore the functioning of the financial and banking systems). *Towards a new Financial System*? (Less finance or finance without bubbles?, World growth without imbalances?, New banking and financial regulations?, A new European regulatory framework? A new global financial architecture? A new functioning of financial markets?).

Submission Procedure

Abstracts should be submitted by e-mail before 13 March to catherine.mathieu@ofce.sciencespo.fr. Abstracts (2 pages) should mention: title of communication, name(s) of the author(s), affiliation, corresponding author's e-mail address, postal address, telephone number.

Corresponding authors will be informed of the decision of the scientific committee by mid-April.

Full papers should be received by e-mail by 25 May.

Scientific Committee

Karl Aiginger (WIFO), Ray Barrell (NIESR), Michiel Bijlsma (CPB), Marek Dabrowski (CASE), Christian Dreger (DIW), Klaus-Jürgen Gern (IfW), Markku Kotilainen (ETLA), Paolo Onofri (PROMETEIA), Iulia Siedschlag (ESRI), Henri Sterdyniak (OFCE), Catherine Mathieu (OFCE, Scientific Secretary)

Local Organising Committee (NIESR, London)

Ray Barrell, Dawn Holland, Simon Kirby; Phil Davis (NIESR and Brunel Univ)

Contacts - Abstract and paper submissions

Ray Barrell: rbarrell@niesr.ac.uk Catherine Mathieu: catherine.mathieu@ofce.sciences-po.fr, tel.: +33 (0) 1 44 18 54 37